Ken Maunder Park
LynnAvon AFC has an incredibly big green space that allows for some of the best and largest playing fields in the district. All the playing and training fields are grass and have all been resurfaced in recent years so are at their best for winter football. The facility is floodlit which makes night games and training an excellent experience. Additionally, there is a state of the art indoor training facility at Ken Maunder that is available to be used to make those especially damp winter trainings completely bearable. This building also accommodates large, clean football dressing rooms.
The LynnAvon club rooms have a spacious bar upstairs overlooking the fields with another set of dressing rooms to service the playing fields.
In the summer season, the entire park, clubrooms and training facility are taken over by Suburbs Cricket which is another high performing sporting club creating excellent recreational opportunities in our communities.
How to find us: Binstead Road, New Lynn. Take Waterview exit off North Western Motorway, Ash St to intersection of Ash, Rata St & Binstead Road lights; Right turn at traffic lights into Binstead Rd.
Ken Maunder Park was originally called Binsted Park, after the family who once owned the land. In the 1950s, the Binsteds sold the land to make a recreational reserve. The name was changed to Rewa Park in 1956. In the 1960s, playing fields were developed on it and the first bridge to Queen Mary Ave was built.
In 1970, the park was named Ken Maunder Reserve after a New Lynn Borough Councillor, and it is now home to Lynn-Avon Soccer Club.